The strangest feeling

Today, I have the strangest and very strong feeling that Stu is near me, or close by. It is a strong sense of his presence – physical or spiritual – hard to describe, very strongly felt. I think about him often, but today it’s different. It really feels as though my thoughts are coming directly from Stu, and as if he’s right next to me, just behind me over my shoulder.

It is a little spooky, but a lovely feeling – comforting and reassuring – as if to give me faith that somehow everything will be alright. It makes me wonder: is Stu thinking about getting in touch? It might sound daft, but it really did feel as though he was near.

Perhaps the feeling was partly inspired by the book I am reading now: Her Fearful Symmetry, by Audrey Niffenegger (author of The Time Traveller’s Wife – her debut novel, which I hope to read soon). I am really enjoying HFS so far – it has some great characters, one of which is a ghost, and I just love the setting – in and around Highgate Cemetery – a brilliant, wild, overgrown and spooky place, which looks simply amazing and I would love to visit it one day.

Leave a Reply

